Nurse Graduate School Tips: How to Keep Your Sanity

67ee79d26291c00573d566b4b19f8334This program so far has been stressful and busy, but the end is almost near! So many assignments, clinical hours, simulations, presentations etc. With all of this chaos it has been hard to stay sane and focused. Here is just a brief list of things that has made all of these semesters a bit easier.

Coffee or Tea

At the beginning coffee was my best friend. With having a new little one at the time, a full nights sleep was something I just didn’t see. Add in studying and clinical time, and sleep really became a fond memory (OK, exaggerating a little). Fast forward towards the end if my program, coffee is still one of my necessities, but since I’m trying to stay on the healthier side, I tend to alternate it with green tea. Green tea has antioxidants and nutrients that can help improve the function of your brain, without the jitters that coffee gives you, and is much healthier. Don’t get me wrong though, I will always love my coffee.

Remember Your Motivation or The Reason You Began this Journey.

Whether it’s more knowledge, more income or a change of pace, your motivation is your goal, where you want to be when you’re done. Remembering this is key because your motivation is going to drive you throughout your whole program. For me, my motivation was more knowledge and my daughter. As weird and corny as it sounds, it’s true. You would think she would add to the stress (which sometimes she does)! But, although she runs me around the house and makes it impossible to keep clean me up at night, she gives me motivation that I fear would otherwise be lacking without her, and would possibly lose my focus. If I don’t do well, it affects her future.

Get to Know and Befriend Your Classmates.

Your classmates are really the only other people who know exactly what you’re going through. Talk to them. Get to know them. Become each other’s support. There are 6 of us in my class and we’ve been going through this journey together for two years now. We talk via mass text almost every day and it helps knowing we ladies have each other to provide encouragement and support.

Family and Friends.

If possible, don’t be afraid to ask for help from family or close friends. Graduate school is a tough journey in itself, so you will already need any help you can get. Add in your own family and work, and it becomes even more stressful, and harder to manage. Family or friends can be there to help you with things like watching your child while you finish a paper, or help straighten up the house after a week of neglect. Even something as little as providing amusing conversation1` to get your mind off of the stresses of school for a while. Don’t forget that your family and friends love you and are willing to help you more than you think, you just have to ask.

Leave a Reply

