Body After Baby: My 5 Basic Tips on How to Get Your Pre-Baby Body Back

20150821_082621I was talking with a girlfriend the other day and she stated that part of the reason she didn’t want to have kids was because she didn’t want to lose her body. She heard that once you have kids, your body will NEVER be the same (wrecked, is more of the way she put it). While it is true that your body does change, it is not always the case that it becomes unrecognizable. Your body doesn’t have to be wrecked; in fact, it is possible for it to go back to the way that it was with a little focus and hard work. So here are some tips I thought I would share that helped me get my pre-baby body back.

Tip#1: Follow a clean diet during and post-pregnancy

I’m sorry to say this but pregnancy is not an excuse to eat whatever you want. In fact, pregnancy is the time when you need to be the most focused and strict about what you are putting into your body. Remember anything you eat or drink, baby does too! Personally, I followed a modified Paleo lifestyle during pregnancy and then combined it with the Tone It Up Nutrition plan post pregnancy. I say modified in that a strict Paleo diet really only allows proteins and veggies, so I added some fruits and carbs to make sure I maintained a good caloric intake. I’m not saying you can’t give into the cravings every once in awhile, just be conscious of it and indulge in moderation.20150821_093437

 

 

Tip#2: Workout during and post-pregnancy

Whether it’s walking, running, kettle bells (my fav!), Pilates or yoga, any type of workout during and post-pregnancy is going to affect how your body heals and returns to its pre-baby state. This being said, pregnancy is not the time to try something new and if you’re wanting to, consult your doc first! I ran and did kettle bells up until the 36th week of my pregnancy, but these were workouts that I had done for years before I got pregnant.

Tip#3: Take some time for yourself and get some rest.

As impossible as that may sound, taking time for yourself to get some rest can help decrease the stress of new motherhood. “Mommy time” aides in weight loss by decreasing the amount of cortisol released when feeling stressed, which decreases the potential for excess fat storage. So one night a week or during a certain time of the day just take time for yourself, have your significant other or family friend take baby and just sit back, watch your favorite show or read your favorite book and have some you time…or take a nap.

Tip#4: Invest in a good maternity corset (you won’t regret it).

A good maternity corset will not only help those abdominal muscles cinch faster, but, provide the core and back support needed to hold your baby. What we don’t realize is that as our bellies grow during pregnancy, we lose our core strength because our abs are being stretched to the max! Corsets help bring those muscles back together faster and help make up for that lost strength. I personally used the Bellefit maternity corset and greatly noticed results (see below). I only bought one size but I heard of some people buying two different sizes depending on how big they got due to the size of baby.

20150820_221124

Tip#5: Breastfeed, if you can

For those of you that are breastfeeding, supposedly breastfeeding burns about 20 calories per ounce, HOWEVER (don’t get excited yet), it is suggested that a breastfeeding mother increase her calories by 500 to make up for the lost calories. So how does breastfeeding help with weight loss? It more helps with GRADUAL weight loss, not INSTANT weight loss. Studies have shown that women who breastfed for one year saw a more GRADUAL weight loss (overtime) than those that did not.

 

So these are the most important 5 tips that I’ve followed to get my pre-baby body back. Hope this info can beneficial for some mommies to be out there who are concerned about their body after baby. Remember it took 10 months for your body to transform so don’t be upset when it doesn’t go back to the way it was before right away. If I can do it, you can definitely do it too.

One response to “Body After Baby: My 5 Basic Tips on How to Get Your Pre-Baby Body Back

  1. Pingback: New Mommy Nurse Tip: Stretch Marks, How to Prevent them | #Nurselyfe·

Leave a Reply

